Today, it is one of France's rare few monuments to the early 20th century's metal-working industry.
A symbol of the Vallée de la Fensch's industrial past and protected thanks to its listed status on France's inventory of historic monuments, the Parc du Haut-Fourneau U4 is the last remaining blast furnace of the original six that were part of the foundry built in 1890. Now 25 years after the forge shut its gates for the last time, it is a centre of heritage and culture.
By day, it welcomes in visitors for guided tours led by former steelworkers and members of the Mecilor association. By night, it transforms into a work of contemporary art, bathed in the 'Tous les soleils' light designed by Claude Levêque.
In 2016, the artist's light design was extended to the ingot-casting bay, illuminating the space by night and thus rendering it accessible to members of the public during guided tours. A fantastic opportunity for visitors to delve deep into the heart of the blast furnace itself.
In the summer, a line-up of events forms a bridge between heritage, art and science for the delight of visitors young and old alike. Loosely inspired by circus and street arts, it offers a new perspective on this old forge.